SEBI & It's Importance In India

The Securities and Exchange Board of India, fondly known as SEBI, came into existence in 1988 as a non-statutory body. However, it didn't take long for SEBI to gain autonomy and receive statutory powers.

On 30th January 1992, SEBI transformed into an autonomous body with the passing of the SEBI Act 1992 by the Parliament of India. Since then, SEBI has been entrusted with the important task of regulating the securities market in the country."

SEBI and their role in Indian Stock Market
SEBI - Securities and Exchange Board of India

Quick Overview— SEBI

Headquater Bandra kurla complex Mumbai
Formed April 12, 1988
Type Regulatory agency
Chairman Madhabi puri Buch
Director Shri B. Rajendran
Parent department Ministry of Finance, Government of India

Responsibilities Of SEBI

SEBI's mission is to protect investor interests and ensure a fair and transparent market. By creating rules and regulations, SEBI promotes development and regulates the market, ensuring a secure and trustworthy environment for all participants.

Every country has there regularty authority to prevent insiders from engaging in insider trading. Insider trading is the buying or selling of a company's stock by someone who has material information of the stock that is not public information.

Who enforces insider trading rules in :
  • USA- Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
  • JAPAN- Securities and Exchange Surveillance Commission (SESC)
  • INDIA- Securities Exchange Board of India (SEBI)
  • CHINA- China Securities Regulatory Commission (CSRC)
  • AUSTRALIA- Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC)

Departments of SEBI

  1. Corporation finance investigation department
  2. Department economics and policy analysis
  3. Department of debt and hybrid securities
  4. Enforcement department -1
  5. Enforcement department -2
  6. Enquiries and adjudication department
  7. General services department
  8. Recovery and refund department
  9. Human resources department
  10. Division of foreign portfolio investor and custodians
  11. Information technology department
  12. Information technology department
  13. Integrated surveillance department
  14. Investigation department
  15. Investment management department
  16. Legal affair department
  17. Legal affairs department-2
  18. Market intermediaries regulation and supervision department
  19. Market regulation department
  20. Office of international affairs
  21. Office of investors assistance and education
  22. Office of the chairman
  23. Regional officers
  24. Vigilance department
Next In Line